Poppies at Liverpool

Today I had a great day out in Liverpool on a U3A trip to see some of the ceramic poppies from last year's Tower of London installation marking 100 years since the beginning of World War 1. They were outside St George's Hall and looked very impressive. As dusk fell they were lit up by floodlights which is when I took this shot.

In the afternoon I went to the dock area to the Maritime Museum then to the Walker Art Gallery.

In the art gallery was a most interesting exhibition called  Transformation: One man's cross-dressing wardrobe. A man called peter Farrer collected and wore a collection of period evening dresses which were on display. It had never occurred to me that ordinary women's clothes wouldn't fit and he needed to get them specially made as he was obviously a very tall and broad man.

There was a board for people to write their comments on which was also interesting. Here are a couple of them: "Men look great in dresses especially my boyfriend" and "Looks better in a dress than me!  Geoff" 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.