Pukeko Chick

Look at this delightful little puffball with the big feet.

Riwaka7  told me of the new pukeko chicks at Sanctuary Ponds so today I went to have a look. They were in the worst possible place for photography - it was early morning, I had to shoot straight into the sun and there was a lot of glare on the water.

There was a family with 3 chicks and another one with just one chick that was a little smaller. I had to stand on a bridge and I think that is why they confidently pottered around in the muddy water below- they were not aware of me above them.

There is a photo of Mum Pukeko and chick in the extras. It was hard to choose a Blip today as I had lots of cute shots of the chicks.

I have just heard the family have reached Korea on their long journey to the other side of the world. One more tedious flight to go.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.