ABSTRACT THURSDAY

I saw this leaf when I went out into the garden earlier in the week and earmarked it for Abstract Thursday.  

It is still quite small but with a covering of straw and some good weather, we might even be eating the fruit of this in April.  Can you guess what it is?  

Mr. HCB and I were musing about plants and the differences between us and them - plants often start off wrinkled, crumpled or shrivelled, and tend to “smooth out” as they grow, whereas we often start off with quite a smooth skin and then get wrinkly as we get older - well some of us do!  

However, I am confident that the oil I keep slathering on my face morning and night is warding off some of the wrinkles that might eventually appear in my skin, but I hope my enthusiasm for life never shrivels. 

Nobody grows old 
     merely by living 
          a number of years. 
We grow old 
     by deserting our ideals. 
Years may wrinkle the skin, 
     but to give up enthusiasm 
          wrinkles the soul.
Samuel Ullman 

P.S.  In case you didn’t guess, this is a rhubarb leaf - bring on the crumble!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.