WONDERFUL WEDNESDAY - OR IS IT?

You may remember the saga of the Dendrobium orchid that arrived with at least 30 of its buds in the bottom of the box - well, the lovely friends who had it sent to me for my birthday arrived on our doorstep last week with another - but this time a Phalaenopsis, and of course, I kept the first one anyway, so a double bonus for me! 

I have been enjoying the remaining ten flowers that have come out on the first orchid and this new one has fourteen flowers with three buds yet to come.  So for me, it is wonderful Wednesday and my kitchen windowsill is ablaze with colour.  The sun is shining, Mr. HCB is in the garden working, so all’s right with the world.

Well, it is with my world - but not in other areas where wars continue, many are killed and injured and thousands struggle to eke out a living and to find food for their family each day.  

Many of us were thinking yesterday of Aynil, a lovely blipper who lives in Istanbul, and we were wondering how she was and if she was safe after we heard news of the bombing in the main square of that city when ten were killed and at least fifteen injured.  I had her email address, so immediately got in touch;  she emailed me back to say that she and her family were safe.  She commented, “What has happened is so sad and I hope terrorism will finish one day and all good people will live in peace…”  I’m sure we all echo that. 

No man is an island,
Entire of itself,
Every man is a piece of the continent,
A part of the main…….
Any man's death diminishes me,
Because I am involved in mankind,
And therefore never send to know for whom the bell tolls; 
It tolls for thee. 

John Donne

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.