Low Tide

A beautiful day - sunny, crisp, cold; chores abandoned, Himself strode off with his new walking poles and I went off for a quick explore. I have a new project ready and waiting to be started. I intend to visit all the holy wells in west Cork and record them - facts, photos and stories. I might put the results in a blog, which can be constantly updated and then maybe turn whatever I find into a book. Should things go well I could extend to the whole of Cork. Well someone's got to do it!  Further inspired by a new book I received on the holy wells of Clare (you see I'm not the only one) and his opening line statements:  'I have long been fascinated by holy wells.  When travelling around Ireland.... as soon as I had the main historical and archaeological stuff out of the way, I went in search of wells'. A man after my own heart. Two wells revisited today and another five to record on the Peninsula then I'm off out into the field! Prepare to see a lot of wells in obscure places! Fascinating!

Today's blip is in response to youoregon1's ongoing abstraction - might be worth biggifying to see the birdeens!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.