Rewriting History

I am relieved that the Oxford University authorities have decided to resist the removal of the statue of Cecil Rhodes from Oriel College. Rhodes was a man of his time and although we would not agree today with his racist views, his endowment of the College and in particular of Rhodes Scholarships (which have benefitted thousands of students from all over the world) have done much good.

Once you start to remake history because you no longer like it you are on a slippery slope which can end up with Isil destroying ancient monuments in Syria.

What is the connection with the photograph? As I walked past it today I thought there might be people who would try to change the name of the pub because it reflects a sport which we would not approve of today. I don't particularly like its name but it has been that for a long time and I would probably resist changing it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.