Comfortable

Almost 20 years ago, S and I had a lovely holiday in India. India had always been somewhere that she wanted to visit, and I was less enthusiastic. My job was busy, and I tended to suggest a holiday around a conference. Not something that appeals to the person who is left to fill in the days while the conference attendee is occupied. 

This holiday came about when I said to her that the British College was holding a conference in Hyderabad, and I had enough leave for us to have 10 - 14 days holiday on either side of the four days of conference. So, if they accepted my offer of a paper, we could go. Being honest, I expected my paper to be declined. Not only was it not, I was invited to chair a session! The novelty factor perhaps.

S organised our travel. A couple of nights in Delhi before flying to Udaipur to meet up with a small (12 members) tour group with a NZ guide, and an eco approach. I loathed Delhi. Hot, Busy. Beggars on the street. Slick salesmen where we were taken by the guides we'd paid for. The beautiful green silk tree of life carpet we bought with my instant anxiety following, remains a treasured possession and is beside our bed in the apartment.

At the time, however, I was morose, tetchy, seeing problems everywhere, disliking the heat, the dust, and the noise. We arrived in Udaipur where we met the others in the group and the tour guide and were taken from the airport to the city, where S and I were banished separated from the group (along with another couple) to another hotel as the usual one was unable to take the whole group this time.

Ill humour continued, as we were taken through a maze of streets which completely confused my usually good sense of direction. and were shown to a room. A room out the window of which was Lake Udaipur. It was cool. It was quiet. And there were two chairs. Old, but exactly like these two in structure. There were no other chairs on which to sit. 

"I can't sit in that!" My concern was that I cannot sit comfortably on the floor. Just try it I was told. The most comfortable chair I'd ever sat on. Looking out the window as the sun went down over the lake. In the morning breakfast in a rooftop dining room in peace and quiet. India became a place of calm, of peace and of acceptance. We had a wonderful time which was not ruined by a short gastro upset (at the conference!!). 

I would happily spend more time in Udaipur, although other parts of India also beckon. These chairs had remained in storage for some years after we moved from the old family home to the apartment. Recently rescued from storage, they are now the favoured chairs for my two Auckland based grandsons. 

Because they are comfortable. We found and bought these new versions and brought them home as checked luggage.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.