Stay away from the culvert

This morning I ran to the stairs down to Southend, Snells Beach. I was hopeful of seeing waders; specifically kuaka (godwits) and Tuturiwhatu (the New Zealand Dotterel). None was present. The sun was hidden by clouds, and it was almost, but not quite, raining. Poor weather for bird photography. But I tried, nevertheless, while I ran along the sand of Snells Beach. I am including as an extra, the best photo of the morning.

While their parents were out, S and I (joined by daughter J) took the two little tsukens to our beach where the water was high, and warm(ish). Took a camera, but few photos. Then, I had to get some supplies for the expanded family, and tried for photos when in Warkworth. Late this afternoon I went back to Southend with the longer lens, and just after getting down the stairs, I saw this Welcome Swallow on a rock. Thinking it was one of the parents of the nest in the culvert, I imagined it was telling me to leave them alone. It fly in big circles above me and I went off onto the mudflats with still no success in seeing the waders I'm interested in currently.

When I came back to go up the stairs, there were two slightly frantic swallows circling and eventually one darted in and almost immediately one came out of the culvert. Not sure if it was a change of shift, or a very quick feeding job. I left them to it, as I don't want to disturb them too much. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.