and through the wire...

By hesscat

Admiral Fallow

So I got to use a Christmas present tonight, a trip through to the west to see Admiral Fallow at the Mackintosh Church for Celtic Connections. I didn't know this before, but Charles Rennie Mackintosh only designed one church in the world, this one!

I think I've been following them for about 4 or 5 years and I think I was expecting a regular gig, which would have been great but it was anything but! The first set was a 20 minute performance of collab composition with Steve Forman, who I have just googled and seen he was a session musician with the likes of Pink Floyd and David Bowie, woah, he's been teaching in Glasgow for 9 years. The 2nd set brought on an ensemble of strings and horns to accompany the band for their "regular" tunes.

It was all fab, the music and the setting. Mrs C was commenting on our way there that the vocalist, Louis, has a voice that she'd be happy to  hear sing anything... maybe not in those words... and I was thinking about that when listening, and agreed. On the way back I was commenting how I love his vernacular (not my words) and how it complimented his lyrics (I don't normally notice lyrics)... Mrs C agreed.

Yup, we were in agreement... great gig! Beautiful music.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.