Grey Francolin(Francolins pondicerianus)

This bird is beautifully demonstrating what a Francolin eats and how they strip the seeds off grasses. Yesterday I witnessed wild nature with a Marsh Harrier drop out of the sky and pluck one Black-winged Stilt out of the water by its head and then it proceeded to eat it in front of me. I didn't think anyone would like to see those photographs, I'm afraid I didn't either in a way as Stilt family are in the Wadi everyday and I sort of 'know' them. But seeing the magnificent honed hunting skills of the Marsh Harrier was something else and of course the Harrier needs to eat and this is true nature in the raw. The Marsh Harrier might have put 'my' little Kingy off coming until the coast was very much clear as I had to wait nearly three and a half hours, before she came to see us. The wait was worth it and she thought in a flowering bush for a portrait was a bit different! See what you think! She did of course go back to her normal perch for a fishing masterclass!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.