Common Kingfisher(Alcedo atthis)

This is without doubt my best photograph of 'my' Kingfisher. She allowed me to get within six feet of her and although the zoom is still at the full extent @600mm, she is now filling the frame. I had a light bulb moment and realised what I really was to this incredible bird, unlike other people's relationship with birds like Robins, where the bird actively seems to seek human company, I realised that I am a bit like a bird bodyguard! She comes when she is called because she can sit on the perch preen and fish without being bothered by predatory birds and I think this is the expaination. She doesn't feel threatened by me and has no fear of the one problem with the Nikon D750 a very noisy shutter, I have since tried the 'quiet shutter' which makes a slightly less mechanical clunk, but even with that going off she stays put! It is without doubt the most incredible feeling to have this birds trust. I'm also getting great camera sessions where I have the ability to change settings and hopefully get the best out of my camera and lens. I promise no more photos of her for a bit!
Thank you so much for your interest, hearts, stars and comments, all very much appreciated.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.