Graffiti for southerners

A trip to the big smoke, but very different to the normal one which mainly involves the familiar parades in Bloomsbury.

I went to a meeting at Loughborough University's new "London campus" (everyone, apart from us that is, now seems to have one) which is in Here East on the Olympic Park. I thought it would be hard to get to, but it isn't really. 15 minutes on the DLR from London City, and then a minibus ride (which I could have given a miss to and walked instead given the bright cold weather). It's also a short walk from Hackney Wick station, via the Lea Valley Navigation Canal, which is where I went to look for some photographs (and to practice trying to photograph cyclists - see extra). I think this contraption is for cleaning the canal.

One of the positive points about a meeting in London out that way was the enjoyment of natural light - not something you get very often in a meeting room in central London (see extra for the view from the meeting room). After the meeting, which produced some good motivational quotes which I thought were useful for our current pledging exercise (see extras), we repaired for a quick drink to some burger place in the Westfield shopping centre, which I've been to once before. After that, I headed back to City Airport on the DLR from Stratford, taking a couple of pictures of the sunset as I went (see extras), to await my flight home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.