Photo Journey

By notabit

Looking Up

An image that I might use for my photo essay on Baroque churches and palaces in Munich. This is one of those sweet little putti that were so popular in the interiors of Baroque churches, full of sweetness and pathos.

I am still not too happy with my topic but I've already invested too much time to start over. Here are some quotes and thoughts on my project.

“You don’t take a photograph, you make it.”  - Ansel Adams

“Try not to take pictures which simply show what something looks like. By the way you put the elements of an image together in a frame shows us something we have never seen before and will never see again “. – Constantine Manos

“... there is more to a fine photograph than information. We are also seeking to present an image that arouses the curiosity of the viewer or that, best of all, provokes the viewer to think–to ask a question or simply to gaze in thoughtful wonder. ” – Sam Abell


I don't want to simply show what something looks like (a church, a fresco, a piece of sculpture), but in making photos of other people's art I will have to  present it in a new way, add a new dimension.

this is getting complicated

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.