But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Snow on the Pentlands.

I could pass this one off as part of my “White on White” project, but I did break the rules a little: I didn’t shoot this on manual, it is a composite of two pictures and there is no auto shot for comparison. Perhaps I should just retake yesterday’s pictures with the white king and queen on a white card.
 
Some very good friends, who are into such things, organized a walk in the Pentlands for the cycle club today. They were very good and thoughtfully called me yesterday to advise that I should take some hiking poles. I hadn’t intended to, but I fitted them into a tripod bag and slung them over my shoulder in case I really did need them – and need them I did. Most of the time I just used the one but, while coming back down at the end of the walk, I was marooned in the middle of an ice patch and was able to extract the second pole and continue without mishap.
The views were spectacular although the fantastic light early on quickly disappeared. The clear view over the town and the Forth was transformed in the worst possible way by a disgusting yellowy/green mist; I’ve noticed this phenomenon spoiling many blips and wonder about its origins; I can only assume that it is effluent from the Grangemouth oil refinery ten miles or so upstream; although Longannet Power Station (due to close in March) is another contender.
The blip shows Allermuir on the right and is looking towards Castlelaw.
 
After a very good walk, we returned to said friends’ home for lunch, we had expected a mug of tinned soup and a few biscuits with cheese; what was offered was nibbles, two varieties of excellent home-made soup with two varieties of home-made bread, more bread and/or biscuits, and a variety of cheeses with fruit and salads. This was rounded off with wine and coffee.

It is good to have friends, particularly friends of this calibre.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.