But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

The Double Helix.

I'm a little bit sore after yesterday’s exertions, but then I haven’t had that much exercise in one lump for over two months. Not only that, I haven’t taken pain killers since just after the walk, I particularly felt it while out for a wee dander with Merlin. While out, we saw some of these strange marks in the snow amongst the boot prints and mountain bike tracks; I assume they’re made by the ice grippers that fit to the soles of shoes. I could have done with a pair of them on the Pentlands.
 
I paid a visit to the bees this afternoon, it was time for their winter medication and feed. The medication is essential, without it, the bees would die within two years but there are beekeepers who insist on not treating for disease, their claim being that the bees must develop their immune system to cope with their problems. I’ll bet they take their children to the see the doctor pretty smartly when they’re ill.
 

This time of the year, we feed the bruits with candy – basically, a block of inverted sugar – they have difficulty with the mechanics of moving syrup from a feeder to their honeycomb, or even into their stomachs, when the weather is this cold; on the other hand, the candy can be placed directly on top of the combs and, since there is plenty of water around in Scotland just now, they have no problems dissolving the sugar and eating it. Other beekeepers just use bags of sugar and slash the paper bag with a knife, to let the bees in, and use it in the same way; since my method works for me, I see no reason to change.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.