But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Cream on White.

It’s supposed to be a “White on White” but Staunton chess pieces, as used in competitions, are cream and black. The squares on the board, on the other hand are cream and dark brown. It seems that these colours are easier on the eye, which is important when you’re studying the positions for lengthy periods. Mrs TD wanted to learn to play the game some forty years ago but, when I said that it was impossible to play a sensible game with the Lewis chessmen, she lost interest.
 
I was never a good player and rarely understood the implications of the moves, but I had the advantage of understanding that and, when playing somebody new, could give the impression of being a competent player. There is a good strategy for one in my position and that is to make the position as complicated as possible; that way neither of you know what the heck is going on. This leaves the weaker player at an advantage, he is used to being in that situation whereas the stronger is not. I often won the first game and it was wise to rest on my laurels as, by the time he had a disastrous position to defend, my opponent had realized the limits to my skills.
 

It’s an interesting game.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.