a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Black Metal

"Black night is not right,
I don't feel so bright,
I don't care to sit tight.
Maybe I'll find on the way down the line
that I'm free, free to be me.
Black night is a long way from home."


Deep Purple - "Black Night"

Now, that takes me back to my youth!

This is the companion piece to Friday's white on white exercise, for Emma Davies's "A Year With My Camera" course, the challenge was to take the photographic equivalent of a black cat in a coal cellar.  As required, I took the image in full auto and then manual mode, using the exposure adjustment.  The full auto shot is included as an extra.  

Having done my homework, I couldn't pack up the kit without actually then trying to take a picture that I was happy with, even though that is not actually the purpose of this exercise, which was to learn why the camera's automatic exposure system is not always going to give you the result that you want.  

I have of course been able to change the depth of field to suit my taste (full auto insisted on f3.  I have also used an additional off camera flash to improve the lighting (the camera won't control additional flash units in full auto).  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.