Plus ça change...

By SooB

Blue sky thinking

Obvious title, but there was a lot of thinking going on today.

Some about my dilemma from yesterday.  I had just come to a grumpily depressed conclusion, when it seems there may be a lifeline in the form of lovely friends who will change their plans to haul me out of my hole of stupidity.  And if that doesn't work out, there will be more thinking to be done.

Career-wise, I have a thing I would like to do, but I'm not sure it will work here.  So some calls to make and investigating to do there.

But today, as you can see, was a very good gardening day, so that's mostly what I did.  So, some more thinking about pond actualisation (ie, leaning on a garden fork looking at the space where the pond may one day be and imagining all the lovely plants I'll put in it), lots of raking, digging and sweeping to get things tidied up.  Also shed measuring and trying to plan storage around the limitations of materials we have, or I can buy cheaply and fit in the car, and also the limitations of my DIY skills since I have made it very clear to MrB that it's my shed and I'll deal with it.

While my planning (on the terrace in the sunshine with a small G&T) was going on, he was working again for next weeks exams.  The kids mostly watched Charmed, which I'm going to pretend is less about sex than Austin Powers which we all watched last night.  About half way through CarbBoy went to lie on the floor in front of the telly which either means "this is so fascinating I don't want to miss a moment" (generally when black forest gateau is involved) or "this is so embarrassing that I don't want to risk meeting my parents' eyes" (sex).

Oops.

On the plus side, we are watching David Attenborough tonight.  (And Frasier.)  Later I suspect Mr B will make me watch Hinterland again and I will stab myself with forks to try and stay awake...

Earlier, over a roast lamb dinner, the kids did moderately well on the spontaneous jazz standards quiz Mr B fired at them.  And then there was inappropriate dinner conversation about the consequences of eating bad food.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.