Scattered Polaroids

By sp

Second invigilation shift in London this afternoon.

I went earlier than I needed to so I could meet the fam, and in the process got absolutely soaked. My umbrella is broken, but I checked the weather and Winchester looked as though it would get a rain-free morning. I got just far enough into my journey that when it started to pour I didn't have time to run back and get my cagoule.
By the time I got to the station I was drenched; and it turns out I would've had time to go back - all the trains were running half an hour late due to flooding on the line.

Finally made it to Vauxhall, still slightly damp, and met Mother Hen and a very tired Harry in Pret a Manger. A latte, then a wander round the Tate Britain, then a walk back south of the river and to Tas. Graham arrived from Oxford and met us for some halloumi bread before we headed to the Bargehouse.

I sat in my fourth floor invigilation spot, in the gloom, and tried not to fall asleep as my visitors had a look around. Pose was invigilating downstairs so we met for chats a couple of times. We finished at 3.30 and the plan was to go to the Saatchi. We got all the way there only to see a sign saying it was 'shut for private function'. Instead, we went to Muji then went our separate ways - Graham to Paddington, Pose to Kentish Town and me and Harry to Waterloo.

Harry's train (with our mother aboard) was due to leave Waterloo at 5.50. We got the tube at Westminster at 5.43. Of course, we had to be on the Jubilee line. SO many stairs. Harry's cyclist thighs came in handy. I don't have those. I nearly died.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.