tempus fugit

By ceridwen

Shiny new neighbours

Sunday is a quiet day for me. I don't expect to see anyone between Saturday afternoon and Monday morning as I have no near neighbours and there are no passers-by. No buses run so I don't travel anywhere. Instead I concentrate on domestic chores -  baking bread, doing the laundry, stocking up on logs and maybe going for a local walk. 
A few weeks ago however my cat Fred made friends with a couple who have moved into  this cottage three fields away and as a result I have got to know them too.They are artist/craftspeople who make a range of quirky, inventive items using random, unconventional upcycled materials. Today I was invited into their place and I was enchanted to see the artifacts and designs they have created.  Most striking was this female form ( seen here with her maker) constructed from a dressmaker's dummy and wire, her 'skin' and bodice created with broken china and the rest of her garments from sea-smoothed sticks. Her illumination befits her name Theia, shining goddess of glitter.

It's nice  to have these new neighbours just a short walk away. Sundays may be more sociable in future.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.