Today's Special

By Connections

1460 and Counting

I wouldn’t know my own tiny patch of the globe so well had I not wanted to share its quirky charms with others here, so it seemed fitting to include one of of Bellingham’s iconic murals by Lanny Little in today’s blip. Many thanks to Phil for doing the honors and especially for encouraging me to join Blipfoto!

Celebrating a major milestone in the midst of this beloved community’s “Save Blipfoto” campaign is poignant for me. I don’t want to think about losing the many connections I’ve made in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, France, Croatia, Iceland, Germany, Egypt/Spain, Turkey, Australia, New Zealand, and the United States with people whom I think of as good friends.

This is a place where we can feel safe in sharing our everyday lives, our joys, our sorrows, and our hopes. Thoughtfulness prevails, so unlike the acerbic chatter that seems to fill our “news” sources. We celebrate together the births of children and grandchildren, weddings and anniversaries, holidays and vacations — especially those involving Blipmeets! We recommend to each other books and films, cameras and apps, food and drink, and places to visit. And together we mourn the inevitable losses that are part of life itself.

Thanks from my heart to the Blipfuture folks for keeping this site going at a challenging time and working so hard to make Blipfoto a viable nonprofit, and to all who visit my journal, whether every day or just today. 

Blip 1460

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.