Just an ordinary stream?

No - this is a Spring and Ancient Holy Well. The water is coming from the underground spring to the right and stones were laid a long time ago to create a pool (overflowing at the moment). Then the water flows into a beck. It is in the village of Morland and in 1995 the community placed a standing stone (see extra) to mark the spot.

When freespiral said she was going to look for and record holy wells, it set me wondering whether we have any such things in Cumbria. It would seem that we do and this is one of them.
 
It is known as Powdonnet Well - the spring or pool of Donnet. Who Donnet was no one knows, but there is a lot of speculation linking the name to various saints. Apparently the spring never freezes and never runs dry and is thought to be the reason why Morland became a settlement at all.
 
In the extra picture you can see the tower of Morland Church. It is thought that when Christianity arrived in Britain, its followers often adopted existing holy sites to build their own churches. It is likely that this happened here.
 
Reading Plan
I read two books this week, so I am well ahead of my plan.
 
A Crime in the Neighborhood: Suzanne Berne.
I decided a while back to read, or reread, all the books that have won the Orange Prize - in order. I have reached 1999. I was disappointed in this book. I quite enjoyed reading it, but it is what I would describe as a bit derivative and quite flimsy. It was a notable first book (I don't know any of the author's later work), but I cannot see how it won that year.
 
Sula: Toni Morrison
I loved this, but it is rather strange, almost mythical.  She is such a good writer, using vivid imagery and sparkling dialogue. This is one of her very early books, coming before the more well-known books such as Beloved. I read this because it was selected by a tutor in Newcastle, so it will be interesting to talk about it this week.

****And great news on the Blip front!****

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.