Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

The Blusher

Now for something completely different!

I'm overwhelmed by the reactions to my 'choo choo' train yesterday! As I write it has had 311 views and the stars and favourites are so appreciated. I haven't had a response like this since my Splash gave me a crown back in April. Thank you all ... and a special thanks to Powercut for enticing me to look at the timetable.

Back to ground level!

It's really early in the year and there are some fungi I don't expect to find in any quantity. This is one of those. Its common name is The Blusher, it's latin name is Amanita rubescens. I haven't photographed it for ID purposes. I would normally expect to find them later in the summer.

The first rule of mushroom hunting is very simple.
If in doubt.. don't!!.

Although the list of deadly mushrooms is not large, it does exist and a very small amount of a poisonous one could end in tragedy. Others may not kill you but could make you very sick. After 30 years of hunting, and eating my finds, I still check, check and check again before a fungus goes in my pan!

The Blusher comes from a family of fungus, Amanita, that range from the Caesars mushroom, which on the continent is a prize delicacy, and the Tawny Grisett, which is edible, to The Death Cap and the Destroying Angel, which do exactly what is said on the tin! The Blusher is edible but only after very careful cooking... I wouldn't try. It's far too easily confused with others.

As the season progresses I will blip fungi, because I find them just as fascinating as I do insects. There are species that are easy to identify and safe to eat and I hope some of you will enjoy having a look around to see what you can find.





Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.