Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Trains Coming!

Rather chuffed with this one... pun not intended but, oh so appropriate. Thanks, Powercut, for prompting me to to look at the timetable last night.

This is my first ever attempt to photograph a train of any sort.

I took the dogs out at 0'Crikes' 00 this morning to see if I could get down the muddy track and to see the possible angles.
Clear run... went to work and a 2pm appointment... picked up the dogs leads that I'd forgotten, broke the speed limit... fell face down in the mud with the camera saved by miracle... arrived on the line at 14.40 and was still trying to tie the dogs up when I saw the steam billowing from behind the trees.
Time for only 8 images whilst leaning against the foot crossing gate and panting for breath. Powercut you're dead so sweet to remind me!! :)

I hope your session went well and look forward to your blip! I'll see later if you caught the train further down the line.

This is the 35028 Clan Line, a luncheon special run by the Venice Simplon Orient Express. I'm almost more impressed with a shot I took of people eating at table! :) You see.

The train used to run along the line every week but for some reason hasn't passed by more than on a few occasions this year. The only other run I can see this year is on the 4th August.

There was one other guy, who was racing up the track, satisfyingly, behind me. He had a little cine camera and had chased the train from Worpelsdon. That must be a true fanatic!






Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.