Growing old disgracefully

By GOD

A TOUGH TREE TO CLIMB

Yet another view of a Ceiba Speciosa, possibly the world's most uninviting tree to climb. It's here today as a wee tribute to the endeavours of the folks behind Blipfuture and all those who have pledged, donated and spread news of the campaign. It looked an impossible climb from the bottom, but here we are, within a hair's breadth of owning our own community.

We sauntered into town on a couple of errands, after which we planned to sit down for a few moments with a coffee. A couple of glasses of wine, two hours and a three course lunch later we were only fit to saunter gently home for a wee nap.

Lest you think I am spending my whole holiday in nonchalant idleness, I should add that I have reached the reconquest era in reading the history of Spain. The thing that strikes me once again as I read about that era is the ever changing degree of religious tolerance - how little internecine strife had to do with faith and how much more to do with tribalism and economics. Lessons for today?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.