RedDevil

By RedDevil

Not a "Traditional" Christmas Dinner!

I was talking to my neighbour on my front porch, when this little thing ran across my lawn!   At first I thought it was a rat!  eeeeek! Grabbed the camera and followed it through the bushes, where much to our surprise it flew into a tree.  At this point we identified it as a baby Australian Brush Turkey (about 15cm long).  

If he survives  (his odds aren't great, evidently only 1 in 200 survive), he will grow into quite a spectacular large bird with black feathers and a red head and a wingspan of about 85 cm (33 in).   I have no idea where its nest is, but you wouldn't miss it because they can be up to 4m wide x 1m high and by law, you cannot disturb them!  

Just hope I don't find an unexpected pile of leaves tomorrow.

The adult Turkeys are a common sight around here, but evidently they were approaching extinction int he 30's, but it's the first time I've ever seen a chick!  Good luck chickadee...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.