Little wild one.

Back in 1990 I was fortunate to be able to go on a plant-hunting trip to East Nepal. I organised this myself and drummed up a few pals to come with me. 

We collected seed of many plants including rhododendrons, bamboo, berberis, maples etc but one day, while walking through a pretty dark forest of evergreen oaks, I came across a small begonia growing on a dark rock face. It had flowered and had a couple of seed pods left, so I was able to collect seed. It proved to be Begonia hatacoa and grew well and flowered. I had it in the glass house for several years and gave a plant to the Botanic Garden in Glasgow where they have a begonia collection. I also gave a plant to my brother-in-law.

After many years I lost my only plant but fortunately my brother-in-law had kept his plant going indoors and last autumn was able to give me a cutting. This rooted and I now have a small plant again. I must make sure of bulking it up and spreading it around so I don't lose it altogether!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.