The Sheik Of Araby? :)

I had heard that a bearded tit had been seen at Amwell Nature Reserve so I thought I'd go and have a look. I met some birders and they told me it was at the viewing point. When I got there I was recognised by someone I had met in the Bittern Hide at Fishers Green. He and his mate both had reasonable pics of the bird which they had shot with the help of a bird call app. By then the light had gone from the reeds where they had seen it so not much chance of a decent shot for me.

As I walked towards the White Hide I heard awful, very loud, coughing. I opened the door of the huge space and it was almost completely in darkness apart from the far alcove. Three men were there with loads of kit. I asked if I was interrupting anything. They replied that they were making a film. One of them had been simulating drowning in the lake which was covered in ice. No wonder he was coughing! He was standing there with a towel around his waist. I asked if he had pants on. He hadn't! I stood there but averted my eyes while he got dressed. I told them I'd been looking for a bearded tit. Cue guffaws. :)

They told me it will be about a year before their film is finished and that it hasn't a name yet. Their previous film was something like Submission and Persecution. I said it sounded like Fifty Shades. What a surreal and laughter-filled incident. They said it would make my day and it did. :)

(The Sheik Of Araby lyrics are often spiced up with the addition of, "Ain't got no pants on" at the end of every line.) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.