Red Status Redpoll

One of the Lee Valley Park rangers told me that redpolls had been seen near the Longlands Hide. I had never seen one so went to investigate.

A birder was already on station in the hide and had seen the flock. It wasn't long before they returned, their bobbing flight giving them a happy and mischievous air. We photographed them on the ground and in the hedge but my favourite shots, even though not the closest, were of them in the alder, one of my favourite trees. It went through my mind that they looked at home there and very Tunnicliffe. I had a little bet with myself that these little finches would be portrayed on an alder in my 1978 RSPB Book Of Garden Birds. I was correct. :)

Birder man and I had a nice chat. He pointed out the squirrels' drey to me and told me about the peregrine falcon that perches on a nearby pylon. We saw quite a variety of birds. I've included Woody and Kes, who I caught stooping, in extras.

Birder man went home to make bread to go with the pork spare-rib, potato, date and spinach dish that he had cooking and first tasted in Penang. Sounded delicious to me.     

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.