Hopeton01

By Hopeton01

Hopeton01 - Ladybird Books

I was delighted to spot this poster near Kings Cross, London promoting an Exhibition at the House of Illustration.

Growing up in the 60's and 70's, our house was full of these 56-page marvels. I had this very book, on the topic of Police, too. As a small child, each book was a world of wonder in itself, opening me up to language + grammar, science, history, cultures and swathes of general knowledge that put me in excellent standing for each stage of my school progression through those vital, formative years.

Most weeks my mum would come home with a new one along with the food shopping (did they cost 1/6d?) 

An excellent investment.

Were these books part of your childhood (or parenting?)

Word for the day: exploring

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.