Life through the lens...

By ValC

Swinging Bridge

Many of my Yorkshire Blippers will recognise this I'm sure.
The Swing Bridge over the river Wharfe at Hebden, Nr Grassington.

Met my brother-in-law and J for lunch at the Clarendon Hotel in Hebden.
As we were about 3/4 hour early,I decided to walk down to the bridge.
MrC went in the pub for a pint!!
The sky very grey, and the frost had nearly all gone, but fortunately the ground was still hard, and so the mud was frozen!
A lovely walk. I hadn't realised it was 1/2 mile away.
Had the place all to myself.
Just had to walk across the bridge, and when I reached the middle, made it swing! ( Just a big kid really!)
A brisk walk back, and kept looking at the time as I didn't want to be late.
Made it with 5 mins. to spare!
By now I had worked up and appetite, and so ordered fish soup, followed
 by roast partridge, dauphinoise potatoes, red cabbage, roasted carrots and parsnips, broccoli and a wonderful rich gravy, along with a large glass of red merlot wine.
Perfect!

The bridge was built in 1885 by the local blacksmith, William Bell.
Paid for by public subscription. and made from scrap material from the Hebden lead mines.
It hangs low and slim over the river Wharfe.
The span was raised in 1937 after being damaged by floods.


We enjoyed the meal at the pub, but would only have given it a three and a half to four, out of five.
The Yorkshire Post had given it 5 stars for everything, which is why we went there today, to try it for ourselves.
I don't think we will be going back.

See map.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.