It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

Joe n the Bean

Before our central heating was fitted, I remember ice forming on the inside of our windows in winter. The paraffin man, my mate Banksy’s grandad, would deliver fuel for a little heater which would only be used if it was exceptionally cold. I would sometimes stay warm by turning the mangle to squeeze the water out of the washin’, after my mum had passed it through the double sinks. We were poor!

Today, I was working from home, wondering when the Phantassie Veg Box would be delivered. The man, wearing a rainbow beanie and looking like a hippy involved in the fruit and veg trade, arrived at just after 1pm. We got radicchio, carrots, potatoes, kale, Portabello mushrooms, a selection of nuts and various other bits n bobs.  Yummy stuff. 

It had been a frustrating morning as I had been preparing lectures and had to render some video for them! This process affected the function of my computer like ketamine affects the function of a horse. I still got loads done as I had worked through from when Rosemary left the house to just after 3pm.

I then jumped on the bike in the pissing rain and headed up to JP Camera Repair to pick up my Nikon. Ever since I was hit by a muckle wave in Wallasey it’s never been quite right. Electronics and salt water don’t like cameras! Joe is a lovely bloke, who’s shop is very old fashioned and smells on incense. I’m guessing it’s something to do with his Indian roots. We chatted for a bit and then I jumped on my bike again, heading home via Artisan Roast! What a bloody wonderful single origin Kenyan espresso I had!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.