The Uncooperative Passenger

The flight to Glasgow, in a prop aircraft, was full. Ground staff at East Midlands asked for ten passengers to relinquish their hand luggage to enable the plane to take off. They explained that the plane was top heavy, with too few bags in the hold to balance the number of people in the cabin.

My friends and I had already checked in our bags grateful not to have to cart them around.

When we got on the plane, there was very little cabin baggage on board.

Did this passenger know there would be space? Did he not believe the ground staff? Did he think the airline could have used a different solution? Did he genuinely know better?

I know what I thought of him and it wasn't favourable.

When we arrived at Glasgow Airport, our bags were already on the carousel on the route to the exit, so there was no delay picking them up.

When I travel with cameras and lenses in my hand luggage, I have no option but to give it up. Perhaps I should emulate this chap's studied indifference.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.