Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Nom Nom Nom

This squirrel came closer than he usually does today. Digging for peanuts on the rock where I had put them for the birds. It being Friday, he deserves to be the star of today's Blip!

The snow started mid-morning here - I had [wisely, it turns out] decided not to drive over the mountain to The Wildlife Center - the snow started there shortly after 9:00AM so I would have just had to turn around and head home. Meanwhile, all the bird food I put out today kept getting covered in snow in about 15 minutes, so I'd go back out and stir it around a bit and add some more. The birds have been in panic mode all day and I've been at the door with the camera enjoying the photo ops if nothing else. It's supposed to keep snowing all night tonight - with the accompaniment of major wind - and keep snowing right on thru tomorrow. Whee! So far the power hasn't gone out - but I expect it will eventually. We have a generator, so that's not a huge problem. Unless we run out of propane in the tanks that power the generator! I guess the biggest fear really is that some major tree will fall on something important [like, oh... the house!] or across the driveway.

This snowstorm seems to be called "Jonas." I am mystified by the storm naming thing.

Side note - Swee'pea, the rescue doggie, seemed not to know anything about snow. She stepped outside earlier today and then immediately retreated in horror. A bit later I decided she needed to learn that it was FUN, so I carried [Carried! She's HEAVY!!] her out and plunked her down at a distance from the house. She proceeded to race around with apparently glee and is now fine with the entire concept. Bugsy, on the other hand, being very short, is peeing on the porch as near as I can tell. Hey ho. When the snow stops we can clear some bits, but right now it's completely pointless.

The extra photo is of the woods and creek behind the house in mid-afternoon today.

KEEP PLEDGING.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.