Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Accident or Birth?

One *benefit* of the snowmygod snowstorm we've been having here on the US Eastcoast is that the birds have been right up in my face trying to find something to eat. Over the past two days I have made repeated forays outside to shovel off the spots where I was spreading nuts and seeds over and over again. Because the birds were all so close, yesterday I noticed this Blue Jay who has a wonky beak. It would appear he was either born with a short upper beak, or broke it at some point. In any case, his resulting underbite is pretty cute. I hope it isn't affecting his quality of life in any way! I saw him and photographed him yesterday, but didn't blip him. Then today he made the unprecedented move of getting on the rather small window feeder that holds suet balls. No Jay has ever done that - it's usually Titmice, Wrens and the occasional Song Sparrow or Chickadee. It's really a very small place for a Blue Jay to balance on the edge of! Fortunately I was standing near the window and noticed him - and got this shot.

Meanwhile - wow! Thanks to everyone who has favorited my wee squirrel from yesterday and sent him to the first Popular page! He's very pleased indeed.

Keep pledging!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.