Spilling my brains

This morning I leapt out of bed at 5.30, woken by SUNSHINE. REAL SUNSHINE. And I didn't go back to bed in case the sun disappeared. Walked down to my favourite beach this afternoon, where the little almost inaudible trickle that the path crosses had become a loud splurge - making the grass quite squelchy for several feet either side.

I was going to blip said stream, or the plethora of boats on the sea, but instead I'm carrying on with yesterday's mystery fungus. Went back down the garden for another look. It has, as you see, one long root underneath. It weighs 70 grams. (Note how I'm coming over all scientific now!) And then I decided to peel back its dry skin - what a shock! The thin skin is lined by a sort of firm fatty-type substance - a bit like gristle - and then inside is this bright orange formation. Isn't it amazing?!

I suppose the next thing to do would be cut it in half to examine the cross-section. But can anybody please shed any light on what it is? For its outer appearance, please take a peek at my yesterblip!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.