Small on the wall

All voles are small, but this one's extra-small:
A baby vole on the garden wall.

Thanks for all your comments yesterday on my strange garden fungus.

It does now seem extremely likely that it's a Clathrus ruber at its early 'egg' stage of life. Apparently, these are rare in Britain. Shame I destroyed it to find out! Fortunately, there seems to be another growing about a foot away from the one I blipped. I'll leave it be and hope it'll grow to full stinky, fly-attracting maturity. If so, you may be sure, I shall blip it in all its glory.

(Meanwhile, many thanks to Murmuration for providing a name to look up! It's like looking for spellings in a dictionary; you need to know how to spell a word to find it! I was busy looking at puff-balls and this one is not like that; it sheds its skin ... but ... won't give away any more now. Let's wait and see!)

Cloudy today but not raining and fairly mild. Have to be grateful for small mercies this 'summer'!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.