Colon, Panama

We have arrived in the town of Colon, Panama -- this is a maiden visit here by this ship.  Looking over the rail, we can see many big ships anchored, waiting their turn to transit the Panama Canal.  The scene makes me think this is probably a bit like what D-Day preparations looked like.

As we made our way slowly to our dock, we passed a ships' graveyard, where these two old salts lean against each other, linked by lines.  They look like two tired old people who have spent a lifetime with each other.

The tour we had signed up for has been cancelled, so we have no plans for this afternoon.  Probably just as well ... it's very hot outside, and I'm still fighting a cold.  Tomorrow we will cross the Panama Canal -- very exciting!

On a separate note, 34 years ago today, I became a mother for the second time.  Wishing my son Tom a very happy birthday!

UPDATE:  I have been trying to upload the next day's blip (for the past  SEVEN HOURS, but to no avail ... I guess we are too far away from a satellite or something ... bear with me.  I may have to back blip several days ... very annoying.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.