Suspended blasters

... or a boat whizzing past on a slow shutter speed.

When I took this, I'd just come out from seeing Star Wars: The Force Awakens at the IMAX, so suspended blaster fire seems appropriate as a caption. If you've seen the film, you'll know what I mean. If not, you can ignore this bit.

The IMAX employee who introduced the film was hilarious. A few quotes here from what I remember:
• *camera flash* A photo. Are you my mum? I'm glad you're proud of me.
• a possible ninth planet was found in the week in which David Bowie died – a coincidence? I think not.
• you can take your 3D glasses home and take a picture of your cat wearing them, or leave them with us and IMAX will take them home to put on their cats
He was a lot funnier than that, but the gist is there.

It was my third viewing of the new Star Wars film. I really enjoyed the first two outings – very entertaining – and this was even better. Sometimes, 3D can be a bit of a damp squib, but it's perfect for Star Wars. In particular, and perhaps these are spoilers so skip this bit if necessary, the Millennium Falcon chase scene on Jakku, the flight through the planetary rings of the Lleenium system, and the depth of the weapon chute in Starkiller Base., and all those huge Star Destroyers. Fun!

The light was magnificent this evening and it felt slightly warmer than last week, so we walked from the IMAX to London Bridge. There were many people out and about with their cameras and tripods, some in groups and some on their own. Fred mentioned a celestial event: five planets in a row
– maybe that's what they were after.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.