Vauxhall Bridge

Phew. No nausea this morning. The headache was worse than yesterday, but I was determined to banish it. The sun was shining and with no need to stay close to the smallest of rooms, I urged Fred outside for a walk. We headed to Brockwell Park where I had one of my favourite snacks – two fried eggs in a bap. It tasted soooo good, which was a very good sign that the migraine was on the out. We sat outside in the sun.

En route through the park to Brixton, a chap coming towards us shouted "Hello!" It was the brother-in-law of a friend of ours from Inverness. And she was with him! What are the chances?! Bumping into someone I know in the vast expanse of London always takes me by surprise, especially when this someone is just visiting. Our friend's sister and brother-in-law do live in London and Brockwell Park is one of their favourite places to visit. We all walked to Brixton for a cup of tea and a snack (marmalade on toast for me) – it was fabulous to catch up.

Fred and I headed to Vauxhall late afternoon. The light around the Thames was beautifully golden. We were in time to go to the Tate Britain and we enjoyed the Paul Nash exhibition. Some of his work reminded me of Ravilious' paintings, especially those he made as a war artist.

I was especially happy to see his photographs and paintings of "found things" discovered on beaches. I like to take photos of shells and interesting pieces on beaches, too – treasure!

Also displayed in the exhibition were paintings by fellow artists. I particularly admired Dux et Comes I by Edward Wadsworth.

The Paul Nash paintings I would have on my wall are:
Wood on the Downs (1929–30)
Trees Beside a Pond (a Pool) (1929)
Landscape of the Vernal Equinox (1943)

Headache was gone by 3pm. Yay!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.