Dilemma on Mt Victoria

It has been an evening of dilemmas.

It was a superb summer night, so I went up Mt Victoria with the idea of shooting the full moon as it came up over the flanks of Rangitoto. While I was getting positioned looking east, I could see some some beautiful light happening behind me to the west. So I had to turn around and take some shots there before the moon rose.

Turning back to the east, I realised I couldn't get a huge moon (telephoto lens) and  the whole of Rangitoto (wide angle lens) all in the one shot. So I had to make do with those that are in extras tonight (the moon is only just visible in one of them). 

While I was shooting to the east, I was sure there was still more going on back west!

The final dilemma was trying to choose the main photo for Blip - the golden light won out.

Whatever the choice, it was a superb evening and one of those occasions where just being there, looking and enjoying, was almost better than photographing it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.