tempus fugit

By ceridwen

Bread or blooms?

My Saturday morning treat is a cup of coffee (free refills) and a croissant (or pain au chocolat) at Ffwrn, our unique Welsh/Breton cafe-bar bakery. 

Rod the baker makes awesome rustic loaves, pies and pastries   (not for the faint-hearted!) in the oven - ffwrn in Welsh - that you can see  through the table decoration. His wife makes crepes. The place also functions as a music venue in the evenings and is a popular discovery for holiday-makers - but at this time of the year it's pleasantly uncrowded.

Blipping tardily again, a verse The Old Man used to quote came to my mind when I saw the picture. It is attributed to the mediaeval Persian poet Muslihuddin Sadi. 

If, of thy mortal goods thou are bereft.
And from thy slender store two loaves alone to thee are left,
Sell one and with the dole,
Buy hyacinths to feed thy soul.

Lucky me, I was able to feed my soul and my stomach simultaneously.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.