Poor Sperm Whales!

Today we had intended having a lazy day around the house, other than collecting a printer from PC World to replace our dodgy old one that has given up the ghost once and for all. But Brian got a phone call from one of his bird-mates to say that some Minke whales had washed up on Skeggy beach, and did we want to go to see them with him. *I've been told that they are actually sperm whales and not minke whales - I'd just gone by what I'd heard people saying at the beach.

Three whales washed up, and I've no idea what caused the poor creatures to meet such a tragic end. From what people were saying, they were dead before they arrived on the beach. This photo is quite graphic, but I wanted to catch the savagery of the event.

I always wanted to see whales in real life - I would have preferred it to be from a whale-watching trip boat as they swam alongside the boat.

There were hundreds of people there - I can't think Skegness has ever had so many people on the beach in January! Local businesses would be glad of the boost during the off season no doubt.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.