Winifred Strikes a Pose!

Dear Diary,

Winifred is my Downy Woodpecker who visits most days.  She is really unconcerned with me taking pictures of her.  Here, she seems to be giving me her best side to photograph and it is a handsome side indeed! 

Our temperatures have moderated a bit and they promise we may be in the 30's this week!  What a treat!  The bone chilling single digits are a bit much for me especially when they are combined with the wind.

Yesterday afternoon I was immersed in genealogy again.  I have been able to extend one line back to 1610.  I've also begun to print out my chronicle pages but just when I think I'm done with researching, I find a new and fascinating story.  Yesterday it was my 5X greatgrandfather who served with the NY militia during the American Revolutionary War.  He was also in the highly regarded Gorham's Rangers, a Massachusetts militia which had Native American soldiers as well as Anglo-American ones, very unique at the time.  He and his brother fought in the 7 Years War, 1756-63. 

So, my winter days bounce between the present moment, here beautifully represented by Winifred, and the distant past.  It works for me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.