audribells

By audribells

Body clock

It was a steady day and my mentor asked me and my blockmates to meet her so we could get updates on each other's lives and plans. So a steady day became a fun day laughing and sharing with my mentor and blockmates. I went home and got a text from a teammate of mine saying that a friend who was recently diagnosed with cancer and was responding well to treatment is now slowly deteriorating and he now has to be intubated. I couldn't help but break down. He is only 19 years old. He's an athlete who eats healthy and a good kid who came from the province and got a football scholarship to study here in Manila. His family had such high hopes and his dream is to become a teacher and to coach little kids. I can't help but question why things like this happen. All my hopes were suddenly extinguished. I cannot help but think how devastated and depressed he must feel to be betrayed by his own body.. To be 19 and strive for a life you've envisioned for yourself and your family; then have it crushed. Suddenly, my worries became almost meaningless, shallow. All I can do for my friend is to be there and pray.

We are all dying, slowly, every second. There's nothing we can do to stop this. And all we can do is to just live in the moment and create memories in the hearts of people around us and who mean the most to us. Just cherish each moment and indulge in the things that matter most. Time is running.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.