The second half of life..

By twigs

Awoke early - again - but that was OK as neice K had asked me to take some pictures of her and her horse.  We'd arranged a time and place to meet which meant both of us getting up earlier than we may otherwise have done.  As I neared our meeting point my phone rang - little sister F (K's mum) ringing to say that K was cancelling.  F was angry.  I was peeved as I'd been looking forward to our wee project.  I was most peeved though that K hadn't contacted me herself to let me know, instead allowing/expecting F to make her apologies for her.  How do you teach 16-year-olds about responsibility?  Ownership?  Fronting up?  Growing up means accepting more reponsibility for oneself.  I sure do hope that K reflects on things, makes some changes and shows more personal responsbility in the future.......

Returned to Mum's where big sis T was and together (though mostly T!) we shampooed Mum's carpets and rugs and washed some net curtains.  Quite a difference and lovely to be able to work together with T to help Mum in a more practical way.

Over then to F's for Sunday roast dinner.  When we arrived it was a bit like the Marie Celeste - roast in the oven, smelling delicious, veges cut and ready, but no sign of any life anywhere!  A bit of detective work lead us to figure that she'd taken Gerty out for a walk.  We were expecting cousin D from London for dinner too but I wasn't sure whether she'd arrived and was with F or hadn't yet arrived.  The texts we shared then kicked off a great series of fun events......

'Assume you out walking Gerty??  Is D with you?'

'Yes walking, no D yet'

'OK.....we'll start without you if you're not back ;)  Want us to do anything?' [expecting a reply like 'Put the veges on']

'Hoover'

At this stage I wasn't doing anything so decided to call her bluff (she would definintely be expecting a negative response!) and get the vacuum out and do it.  15 minutes later, all done plus the washing was hung up too.

'Done.  Anything else?'

'Really!  Thank you. No be fine. V bringing me home by 1.00.  Oh - shopping could be sorted and stored.  And set table for 7-8 peeps'

Around this time D arrived so we spent 10 minutes saying hi, drinking coffee etc then decided we should do as F had asked.... The table was set, shopping was stored....

'Done. Next?'

We found out later that F thought we were kidding her along and she was expecting a firm rejection for her next request....

'Okayyyyyy wash car'

So T, D and I promptly set about doing just that in super quick time.  Bucket, hose, brush, sponge......

The look on F's face when she arrived home and found all her requests had been met was priceless and well worth the effort. And the big plus was it was huge FUN :)

Gorgeous dinner (roast beef and Yorkshire puddings) and great to be able to relax around the table with sisters, cousin, nephew and friend.  It's been a long time.

After dinner, a repeat image of one that was taken of us 3 sisters when we were about 4 and a half, 3 and 6 months, and repeated about 14 years ago.  Great fun - thanks V for stepping up as the photographer :)  As I set the dials etc I'm sure it counts as an image I 'took' - I just didn't press the button.

We took along a good dose of the sisterly fun we'd had when we visited Mum in hospital.  She would have loved to be there with us all I'm sure.  We've decided that the screws need to turn more strongly with the decision makers beginning tomorrow if we're to get Mum home before I leave on Saturday.  

Saturday.........leaving...........it's going to be so very hard for all of us but particularly for Mum and I....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.