The second half of life..

By twigs

The plan had been for F to go get her nails done first thing then pick me up afterwards so we could go shopping together.

Around midday she turned up without having had her nails done.

It seems that her night went on quite late last night, fuelled by a significant amount of wine.  

We did manage to get to Witney with friend V and she did manage to make a couple of nice purchases.  I didn't :(

On the way back home we went through Bladon where, I was told, Winston Churchill was buried.  We stopped and I went and passed on my respects to the great man, whose 1965 funeral I remember watching with Mum, probably on a black and white TV.

As F drove away, carefully negotiating the narrow village roads, she spotted a shop that sent her into raptures!  She remembered it from many years ago but had thought it had closed down.  We of course, went it.  Inside was an amazing array of weird, wonderful and totally unique sculptures made by this man, Graham Piggott.  I've selected this image to showcase some of his incredible talent.  The dragon is just unpainted, unfired clay at this stage - I'm sure it will look amazing when it's finished.

Back to Banbury and to hospital to see Mum.  Big sis T had arrived by this time and it was lovely to have all 4 of us together again, though Mum did find it quite tiring.  

A nice day :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.