Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Wise Owl

The state pension is changing in April this year, the main change being that the number of qualifying years for the maximum pension is being raised from 30 to 35 years. As the minimum was 30, for quite a few years I have had a self employed 'exemption certificate' and thought the contributions would be paid on my behalf but that isn't the case! After taking advice, I was told it was worth me back-paying; I needed to make up three years - I have paid two and am negotiating on the last year with HM Revenue. They've been very helpful.

I mention it in case you aren't aware. First thing to do is get a statement from them and work out if they've credited you with what you've paid.

After sorting this out I headed into Cardiff for a walk around the castle and then to use the voucher I had for a free drink and any cake in John Lewis. Always nice to get a freebie.

The blip photo's are two of the birds they have in the aviary. I only managed half dozen before my battery packed up. I'd brought the wrong spare but always take a second camera. As with the National Insurance contributions - it's always worth checking and being prepared.

Can you identify the two birds?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.