Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Caerphilly Castle On A Rainy Night

It's been a dank dismal day on the weather front and in terms of my car; I was advised not to use it last week as it sounded like the engine bearings had gone. My friend got around to looking at it today and it appears to be a fault with the aircon pump which was only replaced in May. That's got to be picked up by courier and checked before they'll ship a new one out, hence my main car will be laid up for another week. More expense!

I work most evenings and with the rain being none stop it wasn't until this evening I put some thought into a blip photo. I stopped of at Caerphilly Castle and got one of it's famous leaning tower and moat. It was still pouring down when I took the photograph

The castle is the largest in Wales (and second largest in the UK after Windsor) and was built between 1268-90. It was built on the orders of Red Gilbert in an attempt to overthrow the Welsh led by Llewellyn Ap Gruffudd.

In Mrach 1646, the English Civil war came to Caerphilly. It's not known if the castle was sleighted by Parliamentary forces causing the leaning tower or wether it was subsidence. It leans more than The Tower of Pisa and is a local landmark and favourite with tourists who love to photograph it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.