Don't mess with me!

Seriously - Betsey, or Brutus as I think of her - is the current Alpha hen and ruler of the brood! She scolds each chicken from her vantage point just inside the coop as the others enter tentatively each night. The canny ones get in before her, but those who prefer to stay out to the last possible moment then find themselves queuing outside as the one in front gathers her nerve and enters when she thinks there is room for her to scuttle in unnoticed. Betsey will even come out the coop and peck those outside for being late!
Today she was in the front position guarding her brood under the brambles. They were in tight formation, those in the middle taking it easy whilst those round the edge kept a wary eye out for any possible dangers! Betsey looks broody and grumpy here, but in the extra you can see she is ready to spring to the defence at the slightest threat! 
Unfortunately Dotty was not looking well - she has never shaken her wheezing and now seems lethargic, standing all huddled up with her eyes closed. There is nothing I can do for her, she is old and I fear her time has come, so as the other girls were not hen pecking her I let her be. I shall check on her daily and if I feel she is being pecked or looks very near the end, I will bring her home to die peacefully, i will take her to the vets to hasten her end if I  feel she is suffering rather than just winding down. She is the prettiest and the cleverest and cheekiest and I really love her so will be very sad when she goes.
I spent 3 hours on the allotment this morning, took me an hour to get the incinerator well and truly alight! Everytime i turned my back it took the opportunity to die down, but after gathering some dried stalks and much blowing I got it blazing! My scavenging of dried matter was ,much to the interest of the girls who came running out from the brambles to see what I had unearthed, 
I then went on a major grass pull again! Got just as  addicted as I was last time and now have huge grass piles all around my fruit bushes! All this meant I then had a snooze in the afternoon! Fat Cat came and sat on me and snoozed too, until all her snoozing made her hungry and she pawed and meowed me awake to feed her! 
Second of the hello Fresh meals tonight - The Governor's Kung Bao with Brown Rice, Broccoli, Mushrooms and cashew Nuts - just as easy and very tasty!
P.S. I never got round to doing a drawing - not sure I can be bothered now!
Rest of the brood here!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.